Official pages of Biograd Tourist Board
  • en
    • en
    • hr
    • de
    • fr
    • it
    • pl
You are on: Find destination > Cultural Monuments

Cultural Monuments

Biograd on the sea, the Croatian crown city, for the first time mentioned in the mid10th century, was the seat of the Croatian kings and bishops in the following century. It experienced its greatest flourish as the residence of medieval Croatian emperors. In 1102, the Croatian-Hungarian king Colomanus was crowned there. Numerous factual records of tumultuous and rich history of the Biograd region have been stored in the fascinating Regional Museum.

The Regional Museum

Regional Museum of the city of Biograd on the sea is an independent cultural and regional museum. It stores valuable monumental heritage of the rich regional and coastal history. Former royal

Church of St. Anastasia

The parish church of St. Anastasia was built in the middle of the 18th century in honour of the martyr Anastasia of Sirmium. It is 33 metres long and 10 metres high. It was consecrated by Matija

Church of St. John the Baptist

The parish church built in honour of St. John the Baptist is a religious centre of Biograd's surrounding areas – Kosa, Torovi and Jankolovica. Construction was started in 1987 and was

Church of St. Anthony

The church of St. Anthony was built in the mid 19th century. It belongs to the fraternity of St. Anthony. At that time, the church was located on the sea front - at the end of a deeply indented bay

Church of St. Rocco

The church was built in the late 16th or early 17th century in honour of St. Rocco, a patron against the plague. The first mention of the church is found in a testament written in 1653, in which

Church of St. Catherine

Not far from the harbour and lighthouse built in 1885, lie the remains of the medieval church of St. Catherine. The church is located on a cliff above a quarry which had been in function from the

Village Gate

Village Gate used to be a name of a medieval city entrance whereas from the 16th to the end of the 19th century, it became the entrance to the fortified village. Venetians demolished the city in

Family De Soppe Summer Residence

Remains of the fortification which belonged to the summer house of the De Soppe family are found on the island of Babac in the Pašman Channel. The construction and finalisation of the summer

Ćokovac Monastery

In 1125 Biograd was completely ruined by the Venetians. They also damaged the Benedictine monastery of St. John the Evangelist after which the monks firstly took shelter in Šibenik, and later

Biograd Photos
Weather Forecast
16°C
Humidity 55.1 %
Air pressure 1014 hPa
Visibility 10 km
Wind speed 5.4 kph
Contact info

Tourist Board of the City of Biograd na Moru

Trg hrvatskih velikana 2
23210 Biograd na Moru
Tel. +385 (0)23 383 123, 385 382
Fax. +385 (0)23 383 123
E-mail: info@tzg-biograd.hr

Tourist Board of the City of Biograd na Moru HTML5, CSS3, PHP by:  Nove vibracije